I CAN READ!!!

For most of 2015, I had a hard time concentrating on a book longer than 32 pages.  Finally, in 2016 I admitted depression had taken over my life again.  So I took steps to conquer the disease by trying a new treatment.  The doctor asked how I would know I was doing better.  I said, “If I can read a book longer than a picture book, I’ll know I’m on my way.”  A few days into treatment, I was able to finish a book I started months ago.  From there, my concentration continued to improve.  I decided to try a Pulitzer Prize winner.  I enjoyed it so much I tried another.  Now I’m in the middle of my third Pulitzer Prize Winner in two months.  In total I’ve read 86 books this year.  What’s impressive is 8 of those have been books for adults.  In all of 2015, I read a total of 16 adult fiction and nonfiction.  Several of which I loved and have being meaning to write about.  However, reading them took all my energy; so I wasn’t able to write about the books.  I’ll be featuring some of them soon.

In the meantime, here are the books that are longer than 32 pages I’ve read so far this year.

The Color Purple by Alice Walker
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz
A Thousand Naked Strangers:  A Paramedic’s Wild Ride to the Edge and Back by Kevin Hazzard
The Travelers by Chris Pavone
What She Knew by Gilly Macmillan
The Quality of Silence by Rosamund Lupton
My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout
All the Single Ladies:  Unmarried Women and the Rise of an Independent Nation by Rebecca Traits

As I look at my list, I realized I need to expand my horizons a bit and get more sleep.  Three of the books where thrillers.  I’ve decided to try Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge 2016.  Since I’m starting it a little late, I’m allowing myself to include books I read in 2015 that meet the subject matter.

The 2016 Book Riot Read Harder Challenge

