The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up

Tidying Up

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up:  The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing by  Marie Kondo arrived at the perfect time for me.  We’ve lived in our house a few years, all the indoor renovations are complete, and I’m ready for a major purge.  It’s taken fourteen years since my mom’s death; but I’ve reached the point where I don’t feel the need to keep everything in my house which once belonged to her.

The first few chapters, I felt overwhelmed.  The heading “a tidying marathon doesn’t cause rebound” stressed me out.  It left the impression I needed to go through everything in my house at once.  Eager to have a tidy home, I was looking at various weekends and trying to determine when I should undertake the project.  A few chapters later, I was relieved.  The author explained it would take about six months for the tidying to be finished.

Her advice to tidy by category instead of room makes perfect sense.  I don’t think I can accomplish this alone; so I’m going to seek help.  Marie Kondo is adamant you follow the correct order of categories when decluttering.  I’ll follow her advice and start with my clothes.  One day soon every piece of my clothing in the house will be on the couch, the chaise and the living room floor.  I know the perfect person to help me decide what to keep and what should go.  There are only two nonnegotiable items.  The brownie uniform my mom made for me years ago.  And the suit she made for herself in the 1960s.

 

