10% Happier: How I Tamed The Voice in My Head, Reduced Stress Without Losing My Edge and Found Self-Help That Actually Works

10% Happier

10% Happier:  How I Tamed The Voice in My Head, Reduced Stress Without Losing My Edge and Found Self-Help That Actually Works by Dan Harris (Dan Harris is co-anchor of Nightline and the weekend edition of Good Morning America.)

I’m very content where I am at this stage of my life; so this book didn’t make me 10% happier.  However, I am 10% calmer after reading this book.  It introduced me to meditation in a no frills easy to understand way.

For a couple of weeks, I’ve been meditating.  If you can call it that.  Sitting and breathing for 5-10 minutes and trying to calm my brain.  Then, I do some yoga stretches to alleviate the tension in my neck and shoulders.  With just a few weeks under my belt, I can tell a difference between the nights I do this and the nights I go straight to bed.  I sleep better and wake up more refreshed.

I almost closed the book for good when I was slogging through Dan Harris describing the meditation retreat he attended.  I could feel his angst.   My coworker encouraged me to continue.  I’m glad she did.  The retreat depicts his struggle with meditation; giving me hope it will become easier to clear my brain.  The end of the book provides practical advice.  This doesn’t mean you should skip to the end.  Dan Harris weaves this tale seamlessly with personal stories and a journalistic eye.

