Books For Mom

Tomorrow marks the thirteenth anniversary of the day my mom passed away.  In memory of her, thirteen books I’ve read since then which I would have recommended to her.

Bel Canto
Bel Canto by Ann Patchett – A very suspenseful book.

 

Guernsey

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows –  I recognize this book to many women from Mom’s generation.  They love it.  She would have too.

 

Secret Life of Bees

The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd – A modern classic.  It’s hard to believe it was published after mom passed away.  Mom read her Guidepost writings for many years.  Wishing mom was here to read all her novels.

 

Three Junes

Three Junes by Julia Glass – Mom would have received an autographed copy.  At one of my first book club meetings in Raleigh, Julia Glass was a guest.

 

Saving CeeCee

Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman –  A sweet story set in Savannah, Georgia.

 

Still Alice

Still Alice by Lisa Genova – Amazing story.  Read it before the movie comes out January 16, 2015.

 

Half Broke Horses

Half Broke Horses by Jeanette Walls – When the washing machine breaks, or my car needs to go in the shop or other modern day conveniences not working put wrench in my day, I think of this book.  I didn’t have to ride 500 miles alone to get to my first job.

 

Bernadette

Where’d You Go Bernadette by Maria Semple –  I cannot believe I haven’t posted about this quirky book.

 

Serena

Serena by Ron Rash –  If you haven’t read Ron Rash, you are missing out.  I am currently devouring his latest collection of short stories.  Serena is a book, I will always remember.

 

Invention of Wings

The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd –  I blogged about this book in January.  Click here for the link.

 

Leaving Atlanta

Leaving Atlanta by Tayari Jones – Growing up outside of Atlanta during the time when children went missing and were then found murdered was a grim part of my childhood.  I wrote about this book in November, 2013.  Of all the books I’ve featured, this is the one I’d most like to discuss with my mom.  Click here to understand why.

 

Wild

Wild:  From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail  by Cheryl Strayed –  I read a lot of nonfiction too.  This is the one I think Mom would’ve have enjoyed the most.

 

Little Bee

Little Bee by Chris Cleave – Interested in my feelings on this book, I featured it in May.  Click here to read my thoughts.

