Little Bee

LittleBee

I cannot believe I haven’t posted about Little Bee by Chris Cleave before today.  For the first few years of my daughter’s life, my days and nights were filled with anxiety.  I could not concentrate on a book.   One day, I purposefully made the decision to buy a book hoping I could read it.  Little Bee’s cover caught my eye.  After reading the publishers description of the book on the back cover, I was intrigued.

Here is what it said, “We don’t want to tell you too much about this book. It is a truly special story and we don’t want to spoil it. Nevertheless, you need to know something, so we will just say this: It is extremely funny, but the African beach scene is horrific. The story starts there, but the book doesn’t. And it’s what happens afterward that is most important. Once you have read it, you’ll want to tell everyone about it. When you do, please don’t tell them what happens either. The magic is in how it unfolds.”

After reading Little Bee, you will understand why I am posting about it today.  The plight of women in Nigeria is in the news today; but it’s not a new thing.  I first became aware of it in 2010.   Little Bee opened my eyes to something I did not know.  It stayed with me for several years.  I’m ashamed to admit in the last year, I forgot about this book.  It took the kidnapping of 234 girls in Nigeria to remind me to share a book I consider one of the best books I’ve ever read.

