Orphan Train – My Favorite Book This Year

OrphanTrain

When I was recovering and only working part-time, I didn’t have a lot of energy.  But I found I could concentrate on reading again.  My friend loaned me an excellent book.  It was written by her cousin’s wife or something like that.

Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline is set in present day Maine and Minnesota during The Great Depression.  It is the story of Vivian, an orphan, who was sent west on an “orphan train.”  And the story of Molly, a foster child, who must do community service for stealing a copy of Jane Eyre from the library.

While reading this book, a disturbing article about foster care was published in North Carolina.  We still have a long way to go in assuring all children needing a place to live find a safe home.  http://www.charlotteobserver.com/2013/11/15/4470329/child-found-handcuffed-to-porch.html#.UsM-g1LpeSY

However, I know just as the author of Orphan Train stated, unfortunate placements are not the experiences of all foster children both past and present.  I have seen first hand a lady who provided every ounce of security and love a foster child needed.

