Afterwards by Rosamund Lupton

AfterwardsI stayed up until 3 a.m. reading this book. I couldn’t help it. Part mystery. . . part supernatural. . . Afterwards by Rosamund Lupton entranced me from the first page. This book delivered so many twists; I was shocked at the end. Ultimately, it’s the story of the power of maternal love.

Grace and her daughter were injured in a fire at a private school in Great Britain. It was field day when the school went up in smoke. Grace’s teen-aged daughter, Jenny was the school nurse inside the building that day. Her son, Adam was in the school getting matches for his birthday cake. Within minutes smoke was bellowing from the school. Grace sprinted to the school. While trying to rescue her children, Grace and her daughter were seriously injured in the blaze.

In the hospital, they have out of body experiences through which their relationship grows. They seek understanding of how the fire started. When Adam is blamed for the fire, they are determined to find the true arsonist.

I wish I could tell you more about the vast array of characters, but I don’t want to spoil the beauty of discovering each one’s strengths and foibles.

